top of page

Spud - Thun, Switzerland

08 - 18 July 2023


This sit was somewhat different to all of the others in that one of the home owners was still in residence! Due to his work commitments, leaving early in the morning and not returning till late evening, he and his wife had determined that having someone to house sit while she was away on holiday meant that Spud, their mixed breed rescue dog could be taken care of in their home.


Spud and I would have a few walks every day, I spent time playing with him, and provding him with his meals. I worked from their apartment with the most amazing views of Lake Thun, and the Alps, and I was also able to manage my time and caring for Spud, and was still able to get out and about in Thun, and surrounding destinations.

So, as this was not a 'normal' house sit, Spud did not keep a diary of his time with the Kiwi Mistress, as he saw his Dad hooman in the morning and evenings, and over the weekend.

I was very fortunate in that the Dad hooman, was easy to get along with, shared places to go and see, took me out for dinner to thank me, and on my first night there took me to group of friends place for drinks! So I was well looked after, and overall still had a great house sit, even though it was a bit different to the 'norm'!


Doing a house sit will not be for everyone, but it certainly is something for both homeowners and house sitters to consider on a short term basis. I think medium to long term, unless the home has a self-contained living arrangement for the house sitter, it would eventually end up not working for either party.



0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page