top of page

Sometimes You Just Have To Be Patient

Banks, National Insurance Number and Mobile Phone Number were on my list of things to do today. Started off with a hiss and a roar, but then ran into 'challenges'!


Bank - applied on line for an account with the Bank of Scotland, but trying to upload my photo ID became challenging, so off I trotted to the local branch to present my passport. Felt very 'important' when I got to sit with the Branch Manager to run through everything. Do you have an address? Yes. Do you have proof that you live at that address? No. No utility bills with your name and address on it? Correct. No Council Tax invoices with your name and address on it? Correct. Do you have a employer? No, not yet! So he took copies of my passport and NZ drivers licence, that was duly sent through to some 'important' people to see if the account could be opened without this proof! He said to give him a call in a couple of days to see if there was a positive outcome or what their recommended next steps were. Its a bit 'chicken and egg', but we'll get there. In the meantime, thank goodness for the cash I brought with me and being able to use my NZ debit cards here.








Mobile phone, can't switch my NZ number, so have to get a new one! Was provided with a Smarty SIM card from Nicola, my sister-in-law, and thought great, this should work, but not quite. Have now ordered a new SIM card, which will hopefully provide me with a UK phone number at the same time. In the meantime, I am 'chewing' through the roaming data packages I keep buying! Fortunately, the new SIM should arrive in two days. How am I going to 'un-remember' a mobile number I've had since mobile phones became a thing! First world problems right there!


My win for the day was working out how to change the time and date on my watch! Its the small things.


Sara (aka Miss Sassy) 😘 🦋 💌







I figured as I'd worked in the UK, back in the early '90s, that I must have a National Insurance Number, so rang the '0800' number and after having to answer questions a 'robot' was asking me, was informed that they couldn't give these details over the phone! Fair enough I thought, so decided just to apply for a new one on-line. Maybe their system will pick up that I'm the same person or maybe they won't, but its gonna take at least 8 weeks! Thankfully you can start work here without one! (Assuming I have a job within 8 weeks!)

Mobile phone, can't switch my NZ number, so have to get a new one! Was provided with a Smarty SIM card from Nicola, my sister-in-law, and thought great, this should work, but not quite. Have now ordered a new SIM card, which will hopefully provide me with a UK phone number at the same time. In the meantime, I am 'chewing' through the roaming data packages I keep buying! Fortunately, the new SIM should arrive in two days. How am I going to 'un-remember' a mobile number I've had since mobile phones became a thing! First world problems right there!

My win for the day was working out how to change the time and date on my watch! Its the small things.

Sara (aka Miss Sassy) 😘 🦋 💌

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page