top of page

No Pot of Gold - But the Emerald Isles Did Not Disappoint

Flying from Glasgow to Dublin is only an hour, when the planes depart on time, but both ways I got to my destination eventually! There are still some challenges with staffing, but nothing that can't be overcome, although the cues at checkins and the bars were horrendous - thankfully I checked in on-line and avoided that one and 'flew' without having a drink, as this Kiwi, can't be bothered to queue at a bar for the overpriced privilege of a tipple!


I caught up with my friend Denise, who I met in Australia over 30 years ago and had not seen since her wedding in Perth, 26 years ago. I stayed with Denise at her Mam's house in Artane, a northern suburb of Dublin for two nights and spent the first day exploring Dublin, including the National Gallery of Ireland, St Stephen's Green and St. Patricks Cathedral (didn't go into this one, at 8 euro to see inside, I decided not to - must be the Scots coming out in me!) and the second day at St Annes Park while Denise was at work and then in the evenings we went to local bars to enjoy the Guinness and live Irish music - it was great 'craic'! I can also attest to the fact that Guinness in Ireland is 'black gold'! Pubs worth a visit in Dublin are; The Goblet, The Celt, and Grogans.


My favourite pieces of art at the National Gallery;


Saint Patricks Cathedral;








Dublin Street Shots;









Saint Annes Park;


Denise spends three nights at her Mams house, otherwise home to her is in County Cavan, which I can describe as the 'lake district of Ireland' - very beautiful County. Denise's home is just outside a small rural village called Arvagh and we spent time here, including two nights at one of the local pubs. We arrived on the first night at about 9.00 pm and was told we had arrived too early! People tend to go out much later in Ireland, they go out at about the time we'd be going home in NZ! Second night we got there about 10.00 pm, the publican, Siobhan felt this was much more appropriate! Have to do a BIG shout out to Siobhan from Nicholas O'Hara's - not only did she keep us entertained with great banter, but she made sure us two lassies got home safely by being our 'uber' on both nights!






One of the many lakes






Denise's cottage







3.30am - yes in the morning!





My time was short, but well spent and will definitely be back again to see other parts of Ireland - the people are just outstandingly friendly - even Denise's next door neighbour dropped over freshly made scones to me, when Denise was at work!

Denise and her Mam were great hosts too and made me feel very at home!


While Denise and I have not seen each other for 26 years, we picked up where we left off, despite having different journeys over the years and as Denise and I are both single, we are underway with planning trips over to Europe - short sojourns to begin with, but who knows where it may take us!

Must away and get outside to enjoy the sunshine - it might be gone tomorrow!!


Sara (aka Miss Sassy) 😘 🦋 💌


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page