top of page

More Touristy Things In Glasgow

Well its been another busy week of doing touristy things in Glasgow - so much to see and do!


Tuesday saw me head to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum - some amazing art and artefacts - old school museum with 'stuffed' animals, but still very interesting and another amazing building. Every day at 1.00 pm, they play the massive organ - I never appreciated how you needed to be able to use your hands and feet to make these things work!


Friday I trotted off to see Mackintosh House, which is part of the Hunterian Art Gallery, and the Hunterian Museum - all housed on the University of Glasgow's Gilmorehill Campus.


Mackintosh House is an exact replica of Charles Rennie Macktintosh and his wife Margaret Macdonald, all the fixtures and fittings are from their original home. Designed in the arts and crafts style - I'm in love, the simplicity of the style is just gorgeous.




I didn't take any photos specifically of the Hunterian Art Gallery, or the Hunterian Museum, however thoroughly enjoyed taking photos of the old buildings at the Universities campus. Despite its age, this is in fact not the original campus buildings. The University of Glasgow was first established in 1451! The current campus was established in 1870 - so still tonnes of 'old' buildings!



Well thats me for another week of my mid-life OE! Also been busy applying for jobs - closer to 100 applications than I am to 50 - this is almost a full time job in itself! Had an interview yesterday at the University of Glasgow - should find out Tuesday/Wednesday if I've been successful.


Cheers

Sara (aka Miss Sassy) 😘 🦋 💌

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page