top of page

Drowning in Architecture

Headed back to Glasgow yesterday, 25 April, with my 'trusty' Lonely Planet for Scotland, to see some more sights. the architecture is just stunning and so old!

Visited the Glasgow City Chambers building and while they are currently not doing tours, was able to take a good look around some of the inside, the mosaic's were absolutely amazing.




I headed to some of Charles Rennie Mackintosh's architectural buildings in Glasgow - the Lighthouse, which unfortunately was closed, so could only see the outside.










Then onto Charles' next building, the Mackintosh at the Willows Tea Room.



Final stop for the day was the People's Palace, while a great building on the outside, the inside was somewhat underwhelming. Its being used as a museum, but the exhibit while interesting, looking at the 'social' life of the people of Scotland, the exhibits and features of the building were poorly completed. The Doulton Fountain outside the palace was probably more of a highlight.




And when I said final stop, well couldn't go past having a couple of beers before I boarded the train back home at the Counting House!










Well that's me signing out till the next time. I've been busy applying for jobs, up to over 80 applications since I started applying back in March, no shortage of work that's for sure! I'll enjoy my pseudo 'retirement' and make the most of getting out and about exploring!


Spent the weekend with Richard and his family, watched Alex and Zak play football on Saturday and Sunday respectively and enjoyed a BBQ at Richard's place on Saturday night.


Unfortunately, the youngest lad, Lewis has just tested positive for COVID! Time will tell if I'm a 'close contact'!


Cheers

Sara (aka Miss Sassy) 😘 🦋 💌

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page