top of page

A 'Sterling' of a Castle

Catching up on my Blogs - sorry if it seems a huge gap between them, but you'll get two today! So grab a cuppa or something a bit stronger and enjoy the catch up!

Summer is slowly arriving in the UK, unfortunately the heat wave being experienced in the SE of England and many parts of Europe is yet to show in Scotland, however 18 degree days are not to be 'sniffed' at!


On the 07 June I headed to the city of Stirling, this involved having to get a train from Dumbarton to Glasgow and then another one to Stirling. Not the most direct route and its times like this that I miss having a vehicle! I'll miss it even more when there will be many trains not running in Scotland due to industrial action - may have to work out how the buses work!


Anyhow, back to Stirling, I headed there for a job interview (not successful) and then spent three hours making my way around Stirling Castle. Now just quietly, I think it is better than Edinburgh Castle - just don't tell the "Edinbuggers" (Edinburgers)!

Why better? It seemed to me to have much more to offer in relation to the history and stories that are associated with it and maybe this was because of the way it was set out. Would still recommend to people to do both, but if travel time was tight, would go with Stirling Castle.


You'll be thankful to know that I'm only sharing 5 of the 300+ photos I took - was a very snap happy camper! Just wished I was a better photographer, but it keeps me amused and out of trouble - well some of the time!



After the Castle I meandered down through the 'old town' streets. Like Edinburgh there are 'two' parts to the City - old and new, although even 'new' is 'old' in contrast to NZ!




I will go back to Stirling another day as there's still more to see and experience, but for a day trip it was a grand outing!


Best get onto that second Blog and uploading all my photos to Google Drive!


Cheers

Sara (aka Miss Sassy) 😘 🦋 💌

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page